Why Waking Up Early is Superior to Waking up Late

Everyone knows the old saying, “The early bird gets the worm,” well waking up early actually does have several benefits compared to waking up late. I wake up at 5 a.m. on school days and usually 7 a.m. on weekends. I have to wake up early for school because I have to go to a zero period. Even though my zero starts at 6:58, I like to wake up about 2 hours early for various reasons. Reason number one is that it works as a fail safe, if I accidentally oversleep an hour, I’ll still have enough time to get ready and not be late. Another reason why I prefer waking up at 5 a.m. is I can take my time showering and eating breakfast. Waking up early in general has several perks as well, people who wake up earlier tend to be more productive, get better grades, and be better at planning their days. Early morning people tend to also be healthier and in better shape, although this is probably because they wake up early to jog, which is a good idea too.

One of my favorite reasons for why I like waking up early is watching the sun rise in the morning, I usually get to watch it rise as I walk to school, but recently the sun rises before so I watch it from my window. Now most people probably would complain if they had to wake up early everyday but I have come to prefer waking up early. After a short period of time you get used to waking up early and it becomes a habit. Although I have been saying only good things about waking up early, there are some bad things too. Sometimes I lack sleep because I need to get up early, but even then I just use that extra hour of sleep and wake up a 6 a.m. so it’s not so bad in my case. Overall, the good outweighs the bad by a landslide when it comes to being an early bird, going to bed at an early time can prevent lack of sleep, and early people tend to have more positive traits and habits. If you consider waking up early, I would recommend it as long as you get enough sleep, waking up early is important for a healthy and productive schedule.

Leave a comment