Visiting the Big Apple

Recently, after my spring break trip to Hawaii, I took a trip to New York with my high school choir group. Even though my last post was about how tiring travelling can be, once you start travelling you pick up momentum and get used to it. My whole trip, I was full of energy even though I had only been home for one day then flew to NYC. Perhaps it was the vibe of the bustling city that I picked up, but I felt like exploring the city constantly. Sadly, since I was in my choir group, I was extremely limited. I only had about 9 streets I could go down, I was right next to Times Square so there was always something going on there, but I could see any other part of this vast city on my own. My group did travel the city, but it was as a group so we had to keep moving until we reached the destination we were visiting. Even though I was limited, I still got to see a see many of the sights of the city. I also picked up many of the habits of a New Yorker, when crossing the street I give no attention to the crosswalk sign and only check for cars before crossing. I also got used to bumping into people while walking and walking at a very fast pace. New York was everything I had imagined it to be, there was constantly sounds of cars honking and sirens in the background. Food carts on every corner, people walking fast to get to their destination, subway entrances and stations being as dirty as they are shown on TV. Everything I has seen about New York was actually there, I found this very surprising since movies and TV usually overexaggerate a setting but this was real. This famous city was actually how I thought it would be. Leaving the city was hard, I had grown used to the sights and sounds of the city. When I got back home to California, everything seemed quiet and slow, it took a few days to adjust to regular life, my short time in New York felt longer than just 5 days. Eventually I got used to being in California again but I will never forget New York. I can’t wait to go visit again, hopefully I’ll be able to spend more time in places because I’ll probably end up going there again on a trip on my own rather than visiting with a group. If you ever get the opportunity to visit New York, I highly recommend going.

Leave a comment