My Junior Year of High School!

507834295_1280x720

There is always a beginning and ending to just about everything, my junior year of high school is finally coming to an end. I have a very bittersweet feeling about knowing another year of my high school career has ended. At the end of each year of high school I am reminded of the inevitable fact that I’m growing up, which I think is very tedious. As eac year passes, I’m watching my friends get jobs and cars while I have yet to achieve any of those things, then again, these same friends don’t exact plan on having college careers and don’t care much for school so I assume they need and early start at working. Still I feel terrible that I don’t have a job for the summer and relying on my parents for cash doesn’t exactly leave me feeling great. But thats enough of my worries for now, this post is dedicated to reflecting on my junior year.

Okay, where to start? Well I guess my overall feelings for my junior year was that it was alright. At least I can say it was better than my other high school years so far. I found it to be alright because I think school is really boring, the only classes that interested me this year are choir, chemistry, and algebra 2. Now this blog is the only interesting part of my English class because I think English is a waste of time as well. Although I am extremely grateful to my teacher this year for making do these blog posts. When I need to write for school, I feel like its almost for nothing since only the teacher will my writing, or maybe only the first paragragh, but at least on this blog there is a chance that a few people will read my words, I would like to thank all of you who do follow me and read at least one of my posts, it actually makes me really happy and I will probably write more posts from time to time this summer. Well back to where I was at, why was my junior year alright? Well like I said earlier, I’m not too interested in half of my classes, well I also tried to make school more exciting by joining clubs. I tried to find a club for everyday, I had clubs for all the days of the school week except Thursday. When I had joined these clubs, my hope was to make lots of new friends, to my dissapoint, I barely made any new friends. I still went to almost every meeting in hopes of making new friends but it never happened although it was probably mostly my fault for not trying to start conversations so I’m not complaining. But just because this year was not successful doesn’t mean I wont try again next year. I plan to join more clubs next year to help make school less boring for me.

My favorite part of this year is when I got to travel to New York with my choir, although I was not actually at school, it’s school related. So there were some good parts of my school year, but I can’t think of many more off the top of my head. There were also some terrible times too. Every once in a while, I would feel like there was too much work given to me and I felt drained for days. Eventually it would pass and I would be back to normal but I still felt tired anyways. The most recent time I felt this feeling was when I had to do some finals last week. It’s ironic, those finals were for chemistry and choir, two of my more favorite classes. For choir, the final was music theory basics, I’m musically illiterate so I found learning the unfamiliar material on the test difficult and even after all that studying, I did not do well on the test. I’m still proud that I at least tried to learn the material. The chemistry final was a different story, since it was all on things I had learned before and the choir test was on the same day so I chose to study for choir and not chemistry, I did mediocre on that test and I am not very happy about that. I found it ridiculous that I had to do my choir test a week early since finals testing is actually this week. I understand why it had to early for chemistry since it is my zero period, I may not be glad with the results but I sure am glad it’s over.

Now this blog post is also for me to write about my teacher, who is a student teacher and wants to know how she can improve. Oh boy, this is going to be one spicy rant. Just kidding. You don’t need to read this part unless you’re my teacher. Well to start off, I was extremely dissapointed in the beginning of the year to have you instead of Mr. T again. But that was at first, honestly this dissapointment was because Mr. T ran his class with barely any work and you actually tried to be an English teacher so I understand. Now that I look back, it was immature of me to be dissapointed in that way. In all honesty, you did an excellent job teaching for your first semester. You’re teaching style is more traditional like my teacher in freshman year. My last two English teachers have been very unique in their teaching styles so for students like me who aren’t too into English, you can try to find the perfect medium between actually teaching English and being the fun laid back teacher. I believe that you can be that great teacher who is laid back but can control the class because you do know how to have fun, and it did happen in class from time to time. Now I’m not saying the class was not fun at all, but I think that you could have implemented more interesting methods. The brawl we had in class is an example of a fun, more exciting teaching method; especially when there was actually argument which you fixed in the end by forcing us to have opposing views. I did not like having you as a teacher at first, but that’s because I was not used to teaching style at first. Eventually i noticed that you also adjusted to being less strict as well. You’re doing well as a teacher and all I can really offer as advice is to try to create you’re own unique teaching style and focus on making the learning fun as well as challenging. All my most memorable and favorite teachers were unique and inspiring in non generic ways. My only complaint is that I never got to see my grade on my Catcher and the Rye essay that I really tried on, but that’s alright since I did good, right? Overall you have my gratitude as a student, there is always room for improvement as even the teachers can also learn from the student.

My junior year may not have gone a smoothly as I wanted it to, but I am still content with it. It may have been alright but I can’t complain for what I didn’t do and there’s no point in being sad about something I can’t change. Each and every year become a bit more mature, I will admit I am very immature though, and I become a bit more wiser. I would like to thank you, reader if you have read this far since my post is over a thousand words and is my longest post so far. I can’t explain how glad I am to know someone has read my words even if you think it’s bad. As my school year comes to a close, I can’t help but look foward to my next and final chapter of my highschool career, hopefully I’ll be grown-up by then.

One thought on “My Junior Year of High School!

  1. What a year indeed! That first paragraph by the way is totally relatable. I only just got a car, but I share it with my sister. I don’t have a job, but I feel behind everyone else. Often, I think, ” if they’re doing it, why am I not? I’ll need a job like everyone else, right?” Well, if I’ve learned anything it’s that jobs suck and that everyone wishes to be a child again. That’s why when I enter my own junior year next season, I’m focusing on school work and trying to have fun; I’ll get a job eventually, why the rush?

    I hope this helps, and that was enjoyable to read! šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment