Activities I want to Try: Rock Climbing

Rock climbing is a very physically and mentally demanding sport, it is a challenge that looks very fun to me. I’ve always liked climbing things like trees and roofs of one story buildings but rock climbing is on a completely different level. Before I can start, I will probably need to enhance my strength and stamina a bit more but I really want to try. It can a bit dangerous because even if you’re strapped to a rope, you hit the rocks if you fall. Even with that danger, I’d still be willing to try, I imagine the feeling I would have after climbing to the top. It would be similar to completing a 5k or bicycle race, you would push yourself and endure to reach a goal. One of the main reasons I want to try rock climbing is for the view at the top of the mountain, it must be a spectacular view at the top. Another reason is the intense workout that the activity would be.

Rock climbing is an ancient sport that has been done for hundreds of years by a variety of different cultures, although it probably was for exploration and getting from place to place rather than sport. There are also several types of rock climbing that vary in difficulty and danger. Aid climbing is probably where I’ll start, it involves using weight gear that will aid my ascent. I want to become good enough to be able to free climb where I’ll only use ropes for safety and climb using my own strength and skill. Maybe if I enjoy rock climbing enough, I may even try free soloing, where there is no rope involved although it is extremely dangerous and a fall is lethal. I probably will never end up trying free soloing but it would be great if I got good enough to do it. Rock climbing looks like a very fun and exciting activity that I hope I can try one day.

Leave a comment