The Power of Music

Musical-Wallpapers

Music can be a very powerful medium of expression. It can do more than just making an environment less quiet, music has so much potential. Music can bring out our emotions, spread a message, and inspire us in new ways. It can also cause headaches, have poor messages, and be a negative influence on us. There is good music and bad music, most people will agree on that but which is the good music and which is the bad is where opinions begin to start branching off. I love and listen to many types of music and genres, I especially like indie music and classical. Sometimes I listen to heavy metal or rap when I feel like it, I am open to just about every genre of music. Music is one of my favorite forms of art, it can be so relaxing or can boost my mood. Music is something all cultures have in common besides language, music is just as much in our nature as language.

I love music because it is a unique way to express emotion through making beautiful sounds, it is also very fun to produce and artists can actually make large sums of money if they become popular. This ambition causes more people to want to create music, although my favorite artists are those who produce music for themselves or just because they love music. I find it amazing how sound can be so powerful and have impact on people, imagine a sad movie or an adventure movie without any music, it would completely change the atmosphere. Music can also be terrible although that is a matter of opinion. I personally dislike mainstream music because most of it has bad meanings or doesn’t sound musically invigorating to me, but that’s just my opinion, there is nothing wrong with liking that music except that you have no taste, just kidding. I believe that all music has value, all music either conveys beautiful messages or demonstrates talent, sometimes both. Music is so easy to listen to in the modern era and with apps like Spotify and Pandora, it’s free. You can also illegally download music, but that not exactly the best way to obtain music since you are not supporting the artist and the fact that it’s illegal. But most that first reason, if you really love an artist then you should purchase their music to support them. Music really is powerful though, there are songs that can move you to tears, make your day, or irritate and anger you. But when you listen to music you are hearing a message or story from an artist and it’s up to the listener to interpret the meaning. Some songs have obvious meanings, while the great ones leave you thinking. I wrote this post because I just wanted to express my appreciation of music and share my thoughts on the subject.

Leave a comment